Jump to content


November 2018
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2

General renovation work on the Bhavan started in August 2005 that included the start of the installation of a Hindu shrine to the East side of the hall.

may full shrine 2.1.1The delicate local pink sandstone work (hand carved in Jodhpur in Rajasthan, Western India) took 25 stone masons (almost 4 months) to hand carve the intricate stone design (including elephant-trunk supported brackets to garlands (toran), incorporating devotional wheels forming an impressive arched Shrine enclosure to the Altar supported by 4 tall columns. The work on the Shrine was finally completed in time to celebrate Diwali/Ankot in November 2010.

The Murti's (deities) include:

1 Shiv Parivar (family) consists of Lord Shiva, Parvati Ma, Ganeshji

Lord Shiva (Mahesh) known as the destroyer of all that is evil in the Universe thereby enabling regeneration

Parvati (Consort of Shiva), Shree Ganeshji (removes obstacles and ensures success in human endeavours)

2 Radha (incarnation of Laxmi) Krishna (8th incarnation of Vishnu) he spends much of his youth in the company of young cow-herd girls, called Gopis in the village of Vrindavan. The Bhagavad Gita (the song of the devine) is a central text of Hinduism discusses selflessness, duty, devotion, meditation and renunciation

the dance of Shree Krishna and the Gopis 'dandiya raas', the dance of joy – the joy of realization

3. Ram Darbaar (Lord Rama (7th incarnation of Vishnu), Sitaji (incarnation of Laxmi), Laxmanji (brother), Hanumanji (loyal devotee)

The sacred epic Ramayana, (by poet Valmiki), is a moving love story of the royal couple Ram and Sita with moral and spiritual themes. may murtis 3.1.1

4. Durga Ma, (Goddess of power and destroyer of demons) dressed in red and mounted on a lion, her various forms - Kumari, Parvati and Kali. She is worshiped in order that the devotee may destroy their entire nega-tive tendencies within themselves like lust (Kaam), anger (Krodh), greed (Lobh), delusory emotional attachment (Moh), envy (Matsarya), pride (Mada or Ahankaar) and stubborn mindedness (Mann-Hatha).

5. Parvati Ma (Goddess of motherhood/household) Consort of Shiva regarded as a personification of Shakti Ma "Divine Mother" and her various forms Kali (Goddess of power, destruction and transformation)

6. Laxmi Ma (Goddess of wealth and prosperity) Consort of Vishnu (preserving principle), seated on a big pink lotus dressed in red adorned with ever shining golden jewels, is worshipped to cultivate and preserve the nobler traits and emotions which are inner wealth like self-discipline, self-control, the values of health, love, kindness, respect, happiness, peace and sincerity.

7. Shree Ganeshji is the Lord of Intelligence and of Obstacles (both of a material and spiritual order), vighnakartâ ("obstacle-creator") and vighnahartâ ("obstacle-destroyer") summarize the dual functions. He can place obstacles in the path of those who need to be reminded, and can remove blockages just as easily.

8. Shree Hanumanji (possessing unique powers), is the son of Anjana, an female Apsara who had been trans-formed into a monkey by a curse, and Vayu, the wind god (from Vayu Hanuman received the ability to fly). may murtis 10.1.1

9. Ganga Ma (river goddess) the only river to follow from all the three worlds – Swarga (heaven), Prithvi (earth) and, Patala (netherworld or hell), thus is called "Tripathagā" (one who travels the three worlds), is believed to symbolically cleanse the devotees in the purificatory waters (Ganges). Her animal mount, serving as a pedestal (makara), a hybrid creature having the body of a crocodile and the tail of a fish. The crocodile is a unique animal in that it can live on both land and sea. It thus denotes the wisdom of both the earth and sea.

10. Jalaram Bapa was a Hindu saint from Gujarat. He was born in Virpur, Rajkot district, Gujarat, in 1799. He completely withdrew from marital life, and along with his wife Virbaima, he started "Sadavrat" a feeding center in Virpur, Gujarat, a place where all the needy could have food any time during 24 hours. Devotees have offered so much money to this temple in the past, that the temple no longer accepts any more donations. In fact, it is only temple in India to set such a trend to not to take any offerings and donations since 9th February, 2001.

11. Shivaling (Linga, Kalash, Kaachbo, Nandi, Sheshnaag)

Linga is an abstract symbol of the God embodies in it the Hindu Triad of Brahma, Vishnu, and Rudra. The sus-pended Kalash (copper container), when filled with water it is known as purnakumbha from which water drips over the Linga, representing the inert body which when filled with the divine life force gains the power to do all the won-derful things that makes life what it is. Kaachbo, the tortoise - being a creature of long life, denotes countless longevity. Nandi, the sacred bull on which Shiva rides, faces the linga, the Gate keeper of Shiva's abode, symbol-izing the human soul Jeevatma yearning for strength, faith, and constancy in belief. Sheshanaag is the king of all nagas (snakes), one of the primal beings of creation.

may murtis 22.1.1